Breaking News: Banks, schools and colleges along with liquor shops will remain closed in these areas, see the list here

wine shop closed

Lok Sabha elections are starting in the country from today. Today, the first phase of voting will take place in many states. In the cities where elections will be held, there will be a holiday in both government and private offices. Apart from this, banks, schools and colleges including liquor shops will also remain closed. If you also have any bank related work today, then you should know in which cities where banks will remain closed on 19 April. (Breaking News)

Banks and liquor shops will remain closed here

According to the information, on April 19, there is the first phase of Lok Sabha elections 2024, Arunachal Pradesh assembly elections, by-election in Vilavancode in Kanniyakumari district of Tamil Nadu. Along with this, there are general elections in Uttarakhand, Assam and Nagaland. Due to this, there will be a holiday in Dehradun, Chennai, Itanagar, Jaipur, Kohima, Nagpur and Shillong.

Apart from the above states, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep and Puducherry and Andaman and Nicobar Islands also have general elections in the first phase.

Liquor shops will remain closed

Apart from banks, schools and colleges will also remain closed in the states or areas where elections are being held. Outside these areas, in other districts and areas within a kilometre of the border of other states, dry day will be observed from 48 hours before the end of voting till the end of voting at 6 pm on April 19.

If re-polling takes place anywhere, then the date of re-polling till the re-polling is over and the counting day on 4 June has also been declared as dry day. That means people will not get liquor in these areas till evening today.

These states announced holiday

Due to elections, state government employees in many states are also going to get holidays. The Uttarakhand government has declared a holiday on April 19 due to elections.

The government of Nagaland has announced paid leave for employees of all government, private and commercial establishments. The government of Tamil Nadu has also announced a public holiday on April 19 .


Share this story